Reiki - A Simple, Safe and Effective Spiritual Healing Technique

Reiki: A Simple, Safe and Effective Spiritual Healing Technique

Dr.Geeta M Thakkar profile Authored by Dr.Geeta M Thakkar on 20 Nov 2014 - 14:10.

What is Reiki?

Reiki (pronounced as 'ray-key') is a simple and safe spiritual healing technique that is used to effectively reduce stress, speed up healing and enhance the wellbeing of a person. The word Reiki is a combination of two Japanese words Rei (spiritual power) and Ki (life force energy) meaning, "spiritually guided life force energy". Reiki is based on a belief that there is an invisible life force energy that keeps us alive and when this is low, various ailments occur.

In contrast, high life force energy signifies happy and healthy life. It is developed by a Japanese Buddhist who believes that this energy can be transferred from one person (practitioner) to another person (patient)through the palm of the hand, thereby balancing this energy in the patient to heal the ailment.

Reiki emphasizes on emotional, mental, physical and spiritual balance in a person.It is very important to make it very clear that though Reiki is a spiritual technique, it has nothing to do with any religion or belief in God. So, it has positive vibrations and helps in healing and maintaining balance.

Principal elements affected by Reiki healing:

  • The Chakras
  • The Aura 
  • The Meridians.

Reiki and the chakras

Reiki is administered as a hand practice in lying position which is believed to treat major chakras. Chakra refers to imaginary “wheel”within the body which exists as part of a large network of subtle energy. Chakras are thought to spin around itself,with special reference to energy level in the body. There is a close association between the chakras and functions of different organs as a chakra can be more active, less active or balanced (signifies well being). Thus, Reiki can be employed to bring these chakras toa balanced state, thereby correcting the ailment.

There are about 7 major chakrasrepresenting different body parts or organs, their function and various endocrine glands:

1.    The root chakra: Adrenal gland, large intestine, rectum and minor impact on the kidneys.

2.    The navel chakra:Reproduction system, urinary bladder and kidneys.

3.    The solar plexus chakra: Liver, pancreas, gall bladder, abdomen, spleen and the small intestine.

4.    The heart chakra:Arms, thymus and the heart.

5.    The throat chakra: Lungs, thyroid gland and the throat.

6.    The forehead chakra: Brain, face, nose, pituitary gland and the eyes.

7.    The crown chakra:Whole body, including pineal gland.

The aura

The aura is an invisible energy shield (exist in seven layers)protecting the body which is connected to spiritual and psychological aspects through chakras. All the principal chakras are believed to exist in every layer of aura. Normally, aura exists about few decimetres outside the body. Reiki is believed to strengthen the aura and extend it to 2 – 3 meters outside the body and also enhance inner strength and consciousness.

The different layers of the aura:

  • The physical body:It controls consciousness.
  • The etheric body: Here, life force energy is believed to travel through meridians and chakras. It is mainly linked to the root chakra.
  • The third body is the Emotional body:This layer particularly represents the emotions and feelings and it is mainly connected to the navel chakra.
  • The mental body:It represents and controls intelligence, mental health and active thinking and it is linked to the solar plexus chakra.
  • The astral body.  It represents unconditional love and so it’s linked to the heart chakra.
  • The etheric template body– it controlsand stores memories and our thought processes. It is linked to the throat chakra.
  • The celestial body – It represents the subconscious mind and intuitions. It connected to the forehead chakra.
  • The ketheric template – It is the last layer where the soul communicates with the conscious mind through the subconscious mind. It is linked to the crown chakra.

The meridians

According to ancient Chinese belief, life force energy (Ki or Chi) flows through invisible cables spread in the body, called as meridians. Blockage in these meridians restricts the energy flow, making an individual sick. There are two forms of meridians:

  • Primary meridians
  • Secondary meridians

Primary meridians (12 pairs exist in the body) travel through various internal organs and circulate life energy force. Blockage in a particular meridian may affect the respective organ by disturbing its function. Correcting the life energy flow by Reiki may help one to get rid of his/her illness. This principle is employed in acupressure and acupuncture.

How Reiki is performed and what to expect?

  • The recipient is asked to lye down on the bed, wearing loose clothing (withoutjewelry or foot wear).
  • The expert gently covers the patient’s various body parts (like head, stomach, feet, arms, chest etc.) by series of various hand positions.
  • The process of healing touch, hand positions may vary and sometimes the expert does not even touch the patient.
  • The energy is expected to transfer from the expert’s body to the patient’s body.
  • A recipient may experience some warm waves travelling through the body as the energy is brought to balance. 
  • Reiki needs a relaxing atmosphere which is often created with the help of muted light and pleasant sounds ofwater waves, rain, soft music and so on.
  • Phantom hands:it is the feeling of touching a specific part of your body when actually the expert is touching elsewhere. One may also experience the touch in multiple parts of the body at the same time.

Is Reiki safe for a pregnant woman?

Of course yes! In fact, both the mother and the fetus can benefit from this simple and safe therapy in the form of improved inner strength and energy. It does not have any adverse effects and do not interferewith other treatment modalities.

The Reiki healing health benefits:

  • Relaxes body and mind by relieving various types of stress.
  • Enhances body’s ability to heal the ailment on its own.
  • Helps to have sound sleep.
  • Reduces high blood pressure (BP)
  • Helps to treat various injuries and chronic diseases like eczema, migraine and asthma.
  • Helps to work on addictions like alcohol, drugs and smoking.
  • Relieves pain
  • Balances energy and maintains harmony.
  • Expels toxins
  • Suppresses side effects of various drugs.
  • Promotes recovery from surgery and chemotherapy, especially in cancer patients.
  • Improves immunity
  • Suppresses the aging process and improves vitality.
  • Improves vibrational frequency of the body.
  • Promotes spiritual growth.
*Disclaimer: This is not medical advice. The content is for educational purposes only. Please contact your doctor for any health care issues.