Energy Points in The Body or Balancing Chakras in Yoga
Alternative Medicine

Balancing Chakras : The Energy Points in The Body

Dr.Hansaji  Jayadeva profile Authored by Dr.Hansaji Jayadeva on 16 Jul 2014 - 15:12.

Chakras and Energy Points Yoga

The word 'Chakra' always elicits a mystical as well as a curious response, every time it is spoken of. It is a vast topic and we attempt to introduce the topic at a basic level for a lay person.

Chakras are intense energy points present at the junctions of various energy channels that criss-cross our body. Since there are around 72,000 energy channels (nadis) in our body and correspondingly thousands of junctions between them, there are simultaneously thousands of chakras in almost every part of our body. Yet, the seven chakras that are present from the waist above are considered to be the most important ones.

These chakras and their approximate positions are as follows:

1. Muladhara: Between the anus and the genitals
2. Swadhishthana: Between navel & genitals
3. Manipura: Around navel or between the navel and rib cage
4. Anahat: Level of the heart
5. Vishuddhi: Throat
6. Ajnya: Forehead, between the eyebrows
7. Brahmasahastra: Crown area

Each chakra is related to a particular colour, deity, mantra, yantra, etc. as also various organs and related illnesses. The colour, mantra, etc. is then used to treat the particular organ affected. The science of Yoga believes in balancing the chakra through various asanas or Pranayama. Selecting the proper asana would require the right diagnosis and an expert opinion.

However, there are two yoga activities that can be safely performed to balance the energy and thereby the chakras, without going much into its diagnostic details:

1) Alternate Breathing :This is based on the concept that the major energy channels of our body (Ida and Pingdala) are in connection with the two nostrils (left and right respectively). Our health is related to the smooth flow of energy through these energy channels and simultaneously, illness is said to occur when this energy gets imbalanced. Health can thus be restored if we are able to restore this balance. Since these energy channels are connected to our nostrils, breathing alternately from the nostrils evens out the imbalances whatever they may be.


Procedure: Sit straight, preferably without a support to your back. Use the fingers of your right hand to block your nostrils alternately. Join the index and middle finger of the right hand and keep it on the Ajnya Chakra as a fulcrum. The thumb can then be used to block the right nostril and the little and ring finger for blocking the left nostril.

Begin by closing your eyes and focusing on your breath for a while. Now close your left nostril and breathe in through your right nostril. As you finish taking your breath in, now close your right nostril (with your thumb) and start to breathe out through the left nostril. After you finish breathing out, again breathe in through the same (left) nostril and then breathe out through the right. Repeat this process continuously.

With practice, the breathing should become smooth and gentle, so do not worry if it doesn’t happen so, initially.


  • The breathing should be natural and there should be no effort to control it (prolonged or deep breaths).
  • This practice can be done irrespective of the problem for as long as felt necessary
  • Done before sleeping, it improves the quality of sleep as also aids in the generalised healing.
  • Done regularly, it importantly prepares the individual for the next option (meditation).

2) Meditation : Sit comfortably, with your head straight, back erect and shoulders slightly pulled back. Attempt to keep your body relaxed. Slowly, shift your attention to your breathing and try to be aware of the movement of air as it passes through your nose when you breathe in and out. Let your breathing be slow and gentle and practice more to let that happen. Regular meditation creates a calm state of mind which corresponds to a balanced state of emotions, which in turn automatically balances the concerned chakra.

As you progress in meditation, you may slowly start shifting your attention to focus on your chakras one by one. Meditate on each Chakra till you feel the need to move ahead. Correspondingly, you may place your right palm on the chakra that you are focusing on for healing.

The concept of chakras: is better understood with awareness about our levels of existence as explained in the Indian philosophy. These are what are termed as the Koshas or Sheaths which are as follows:

  • Annamaya Kosha –This is the physical body that we are able to see and feel.
  • Pranamaya Kosha – This is the sheath of Prana or energy (chi) that flows in our body through subtle channels (nadis), invisible to the naked eye.
  • Manomaya Kosha – The mind encompassing various emotions are included in this sheath.
  • Buddhimaya Kosha – This is the intellect or the aspect of logic and thoughts that determine the course of our actions.
  • Anandamaya Kosha – this is the state of Bliss ever residing in all of us that cannot be explained through words but can only be experienced.

The chakras relate to the energy level of our existence, but before proceeding to understand something more about them, we need to understand some more aspects of these Koshas.

  1. All these five levels are present in each of us, yet depending on our personal beliefs, we consider one or the other to be more important.
  2. These five levels are not distinctly separate bodies but rather, closely inter-related entities which are: 
    ​                  a) Affection at one level, capable of causing disturbance at other levels. For example, a highly disturbed body affliction can cause the emotions to get disturbed and simultaneously the thought process to be hampered.
                     b) Affection at another level can be corrected even through a healing/ balancing of the other sheaths. Thus, a headache (physical level) can be caused by disturbed emotions and can also be reversely corrected by balancing the disturbed emotion.
  3. Thoughts are created at the deepest level and are most capable of affecting the chakras. Thoughts create emotions and hence an imbalanced state of emotions corresponds to an imbalanced state of Chakras and conversely, balanced emotions lead to balanced Chakras. 

Kundalini is the word used to this energy. It is imagined symbolically that it is like a coiled serpent which is coiled two and a half times at the muladhara chakra and one of the chakras can be opened systematically from bottom upwards. For householders we do not recommend this technique or concentrating on one chakra at a time, but yogic techniques are used to strengthen the whole body.

Therefore, though the chakras relate to the energy (Pranamaya) sheath, they can be affected by /or influence the other Koshas.

*Disclaimer: This is not medical advice. The content is for educational purposes only. Please contact your doctor for any health care issues.